Single Largest Art Exhibit In Lackawanna County

March 18, 2013 | By administrator

Marywood University Art Galleries

AFA Gallery The Hope Horn Gallery, The University of Scranton

ArtWorks Gallery & Studio

NortheasternBiennialSCRANTON, PA – 03/15/2013 – A steering committee made-up of members from Marywood University Art Galleries, AFA Gallery, The Hope Horn Gallery at The University of Scranton, and ArtWorks Gallery & Studio have been working together since early last year to bring about the Northeastern Biennial Twenty Thirteen to Lackawanna County. This week the four galleries released a call for entries to artists who live and work within a 100 mile radius of Scranton, Pennsylvania.


Northeastern Biennial Twenty Thirteen will be the single largest art exhibit ever held in Lackawanna County; it comprises work presented in four venues which will play host to hundreds of works of art by area artists. The Northeastern Biennial Twenty Thirteen, which used to be called “regional” in prior editions, provides the community a look at the current state of contemporary art in Scranton and surrounding communities,” said Sandra Ward Povse, Director of the Marywood University Art Galleries and one of the eight members of the steering committee.


Area artists are being encouraged to participate in a juried exhibition that has been carefully re-vamped through planning that occurred over the past twelve months. “Northeastern Biennial Twenty Thirteen offers artists more opportunities for prizes and awards than prior juried exhibitions in the area; a total of four 1st place cash awards at $500 each, four 2nd place cash awards at $250 each, four honorable mentions and four one-person exhibits, one at each of the participating venues,” said Bill Teitsworth, Coordinator of Artworks Gallery & Studio. Teitsworth explained that artists can submit work to be juried in four separate categories: painting; photography, mixed media and three-dimensional work.


This year the biennial is being juried by David S. Rubin who currently holds the position of The Brown Foundation Curator of Contemporary Arts at the San Antonio Museum of Art in Texas. Mr. Rubin was international juror for the Florence Biennale from 2001 to 2007 and he served as the US Commissioner of the Cuenca Bienal of painting in Ecuador in 1996. His curatorial background is vast with posts at prestigious museums such as the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the San Francisco Art Institute, the Phoenix Museum of Art and MOCA Cleveland to name a few. Besides being an accomplished artist, he holds a Bachelors degree in Philosophy from UCLA and a Masters degree in Art History from Harvard University.


The Northeastern Biennial Twenty Thirteen steering committee is encouraging eligible artists to make their submissions prior to June 15, 2013. Prize notification will be made by September 1, 2013.  Northeastern Biennial Twenty Thirteen will be open to the public from October 19 to November 13, 2013 at the four venues concurrently- the Mahady Gallery at Marywood University, AFA Gallery, The Hope Horn Gallery at The University of Scranton, and ArtWorks Gallery & Studio. Award recipients will be announced at a reception on October 19, 2013. The entire event as well as the award ceremony will be open to the public.


The Northeastern Biennial Twenty Thirteen call for entries may be downloaded from To receive the call for entries by mail, artists may call 570.348.6211 ext. 2428 or send a written request via email with a name and address to

The Northeastern Biennial Twenty Thirteen is generously supported by a grant from the Lackawanna County Community Arts and Culture, a program of Lackawanna County Commissioners Corey D. O’Brien, Jim Wansacz, and Patrick O’Malley.

For additional information on this press release or the event, please contact: Dr. Darlene Miller-Lanning, 570-941-4214,, Sandra Ward Povse, 570-348-6278,, Nicole Sawicki, 570-207-1815,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>